STICK is the Scottish Transport & Industry Collections and Knowledge network and as a Subject Specialist Network (SSN) it aims to promote care and enjoyment of these collections. Established in 2006 as a membership body, STICK formalised the running of the network in 2010 when a constitution was introduced, which was revised again in 2020.

STICK Constitution
STICK Roles and Responsibilities

STICK will encourage wider engagement with transport and industrial collections across Scotland through research, stewardship and advocacy. It aims to:

Not for profit

STICK is run by volunteers as a not-for-profit organisation. It does not receive any funding and runs off donations and profits from events. Find out more about how you can support our work.

Steering Group

Following the AGM in April 2021, the steering group was elected for STICK and individuals assigned to the following roles and responsibilities. They are:

Office Bearers

Matthew Bellhouse Moran (HMS Unicorn) Chair
Kirstie Blair (University of Strathclyde) Vice-Chair
Miriam McDonald (Historic Environment Scotland) Membership Secretary
Ellie Swinbank (National Museums Scotland) Treasurer
Emma Halford-Forbes (Industrial Museums Scotland) Minutes Officer

Ordinary Members

Justin Parkes (Summerlee Museum)
Jim Mitchell (Industrial Heritage Consulting)
Mark Watson (Historic Environment Scotland, TICCIH Representative)
Kiara King (Ballast Trust)
Nicola Moss (National Mining Museum Scotland)

Ex Officio members

Miles Oglethorpe (Historic Environment Scotland)